Guinness beer going vegan

Currently, the beloved Guinness beer is not vegan friendly. Why? “For decades, Guinness has been made using isinglass, a collagen harvested from fish swim bladders (the internal organs that help them stay buoyant) used to filter impurities out of the brew.” (2)

Yum.

The good news, however, is that starting sometime in 2016, Guinness is modifying their 256 year-old tradition. The recipe stays the same; the process is changing.

Decisions like this are not made in some willy-nilly vacuum. The market has come to bear on this company. And they are responding to the demand. Kudos to them. Times are changing.

Go here to see if your favorite beers & wines feature animal byproducts: http://www.barnivore.com/

7nSDVdU

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s